Legal goal or not...

Discussion in 'Indoor Umpiring Questions' started by MKochar, Nov 30, 2016.

  1. MKochar

    MKochar FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    498
    Location:
    Isleworth
  2. CardHappy

    CardHappy FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    231
    Location:
    England
    Hard to tell from that angle, if there was one touch on the ball then the player was up. The more interesting thing for me is whether it's a hit or not. Borderline. Saying that if it had been on the forehand I would have said it was alright.

    So goal.. but with reservations ;-)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. redumpire

    redumpire FHF All Time Great
    FHF Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    10,583
    Likes Received:
    2,717
    If you run it frame by frame then he's in the air when he plays the ball, so that's fine. It does look like a borderline hit to me... However, there's enough doubt there for me to say I think that I would have awarded the goal.
     
  4. AJF

    AJF FHF Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    295
    Location:
    Edinburgh, Scotland
    In realtime I would have gone with hit, in the slowmo I'm not as sure...
     
  5. johnreiss

    johnreiss FHF Top Player

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    713
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    teesside
    From playing the video at normal speed, there's a case for the attacker backing into the gk. As well as the spin he actually takes a step into the gk. Also IMHO its a hit.. Now whether he's in the air when contact with the ball is made or is actually on the floor is hard to tell. On the grounds it is better to disallow the 'illegal goal' than to erroneously award one. I'd go with fpd.
     
  6. Mick Mason

    Mick Mason FHF Top Player

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2016
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    41
    No goal. He backed into the GK and pushed him with his butt. Maybe another angle would show something else?
    That is not a hit though or you would also have to call half the transfers made in international mens games hits.

    On the day the umpires were happy with it so lucky him :)
     
    Michael Byrne and SPetitt like this.
  7. UmpireHockey.com

    UmpireHockey.com FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    72
    I would have not called that a hit. Close? Sure but, 50/50 call at best and that it does not involve danger, I'm not going to be that picky. On the forehand side I don't think it would have even be a thought that it was a hit.
     
  8. msmith

    msmith FHF Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    I would have gone with the exceptional use of the glutes. long before that possible hit became an issue.
     
  9. RushMan

    RushMan FHF All Time Great

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Perth for 2017
    Looks good to me

    No contact with the gluts, keeper isn't close enough

    I don't agree with the spinning rules nowadays but that is for another thread
     

Share This Page