Trail running shoes for water base

Discussion in 'Equipment Review & Questions' started by Lawpf2001, Jul 31, 2011.

1. Offline

Lawpf2001 FHF Starter

Message Count:
    I'm a uni student running a tight budget and want some advice on trail running shoes. Went on Barringtons and all their shoes seemed to be trail running shoes which generally seem to cost less than standard Hockey shoes.

From looking through threads on here and the Adidas Kanadia TR 3 seem to be popular. But I was mainly wondering whether these would perform well and water (what I play on mostly).

Other than that are there many advantages of trails apart from lightness and grip?
  2. Offline

rk5 FHF Newbie

Message Count:
    I have a pair of those adidas ones mate and would recommend them, as you'd expect they are as comfy as running trainers but with the grip of astros.

Only thing i'd say is mine smell a lot worse than other shoes i've had after playing regularly on water, might be down to all the mesh on them maybe...
  3. Offline

Lawpf2001 FHF Starter

Message Count:
    I've also been reading that they tend to be quite tight fit. Eg a size 12 shoes would be best for a size 11 foot. Would you agree with this?
  4. Offline

rk5 FHF Newbie

Message Count:
    yeah i would, i'm an 11 in normal trainers so ordered an 11 in these and found them tight to begin with. After a few sessions they'd stretched and fit perfect but I'd advise maybe ordering half a size bigger or a full size bigger and go with 2 pairs of socks
  5. Offline

Lawpf2001 FHF Starter

Message Count:
    Cheers for the help. Now to find a pair in 12.5 or 13 :(
  6. Offline

jaduong FHF Legend

Message Count:
    it will be very difficult to find those in the sizes you want.

there is a pair of 13.5 on ebay from a UK shop seller...bit big though, i reckon..
  7. Offline

Lawpf2001 FHF Starter

Message Count:
    I've found a pair of 12's for £40. Unsure whether to risk it.